The PROTECT IP Act (PIPA) is the evil step-sister of the Stop Online Piracy Act (SOPA), the much-criticized Internet blacklist bill introduced in the House last month. They’ve got a lot in common — both bills would allow the government and private rightsholders to censor the Internet for Americans, and both bills have faced strong opposition from regular citizens, business leaders, and public interest groups.

In one way, though, PIPA is much worse: while SOPA is still in the House committee stage and has been the target of extraordinary public opposition, PIPA is already out of committee and poised for consideration of the full Senate. That means PIPA is a few dangerous steps further along in the process of becoming law. And with only a few weeks to go in this legislative session, the Senate may try to rush the bill through before the public has a chance to respond.

We're not going to let that happen. Despite their efforts to push this through under the radar, folks who care about the Internet and innovation are tracking this bill and getting the word out. You can help, in an old-school and very effective way: Pick up the phone. 

Right now, the best response to this threat is to let your Senator hear your voice, explaining why you as a constituent think PIPA is such a bad idea. That’s why we’ve joined with many other public interest groups, including Public Knowledge, Fight for the Future, Demand Progress and others, in asking the public to call in to the Senate.

Even if you’ve already used our action alert (and thank you), please take a few minutes now and get on the phone with your Senator’s office. Let them know that Internet censorship is unacceptable.

Here are some talking points for you to mention during the phone call:

Hello, my name is [YOUR NAME] and I am a constituent of the Senator.

I think S. 968, the PROTECT IP Act, is a bad idea, and I hope the Senator will stand against it.

PROTECT IP is overbroad, and could be used as a tool for online censorship. Further, it creates a bad precedent internationally for fragmenting the Internet.

Thank you for your consideration, and for acting against this dangerous bill.

Find your state in the list below to get the phone numbers for your Senators. If your Senator has already spoken out against PIPA, his or her name will be in bold text. Please call to thank them for their position!

Big content is not going to give up on the idea that the best way to protect its slow-moving business model is to ensure that it gets to dictate the pace of innovation.  Let’s send a signal that the next generation of creators and innovators will not let big content decide the future of the Internet.

Help us spread the word!

Once you’ve called your Senators, there are still more steps you can take to fight this disastrous bill. Tell your friends, in person, on Facebook, or on Twitter, and ask them to call their Senators. You can join over 100,000 Americans who have signed a Demand Progress petition — Senator Ron Wyden has promised to read from the list if he needs to filibuster the bill. And if you haven’t yet used our action alert, act now to e-mail your legislators with your opposition.

State Senator Phone
Alabama Richard Shelby (202) 224-5744
Alabama Jeff Sessions (202) 224-4124
Alaska Lisa Murkowski (202) 224-6665
Alaska Mark Begich (202) 224-3004
Arizona John McCain (202) 224-2235
Arizona Jon Kyl (202) 224-4521
Arkansas Mark Pryor (202) 224-2353
Arkansas John Boozman (202) 224-4843
California Dianne Feinstein (202) 224-3841
California Barbara Boxer (202) 224-3553
Colorado Mark Udall (202) 224-5941
Colorado Michael Bennet (202) 224-5852
Connecticut Joe Lieberman (202) 224-4041
Connecticut Richard Blumenthal (202) 224-2823
Delaware Tom Carper (202) 224-2441
Delaware Chris Coons (202) 224-5042
Florida Bill Nelson (202) 224-5274
Florida Marco Rubio (202) 224-3041
Georgia Saxby Chambliss (202) 224-3521
Georgia Johnny Isakson (202) 224-3643
Hawaii Daniel Inouye (202) 224-3934
Hawaii Daniel Akaka (202) 224-6361
Idaho Mike Crapo (202) 224-6142
Idaho Jim Risch (202) 224-2752
Illinois Dick Durbin (202) 224-2152
Illinois Mark Kirk (202) 224-2854
Indiana Richard Lugar (202) 224-4814
Indiana Dan Coats (202) 224-5623
Iowa Chuck Grassley (202) 224-3744
Iowa Tom Harkin (202) 224-3254
Kansas Pat Roberts (202) 224-4774
Kansas Jerry Moran (202) 224-6521
Kentucky Mitch McConnell (202) 224-2541
Kentucky Rand Paul (202) 224-4343
Louisiana Mary Landrieu (202) 224-5824
Louisiana David Vitter (202) 224-4623
Maine Olympia Snowe (202) 224-5344
Maine Susan Collins (202) 224-2523
Maryland Barbara Mikulski (202) 224-4654
Maryland Ben Cardin (202) 224-4524
Massachusetts John Kerry (202) 224-2742
Massachusetts Scott Brown (202) 224-4543
Michigan Carl Levin (202) 224-6221
Michigan Debbie Stabenow (202) 224-4822
Minnesota Amy Klobuchar (202) 224-3244
Minnesota Al Franken (202) 224-5641
Mississippi Thad Cochran (202) 224-5054
Mississippi Roger Wicker (202) 224-6253
Missouri Claire McCaskill (202) 224-6154
Missouri Roy Blunt (202) 224-5721
Montana Max Baucus (202) 224-2651
Montana Jon Tester (202) 224-2644
Nebraska Ben Nelson (202) 224-6551
Nebraska Mike Johanns (202) 224-4224
Nevada Harry Reid (202) 224-3542
Nevada Dean Heller (202) 224-6244
New Hampshire Jeanne Shaheen (202) 224-2841
New Hampshire Kelly Ayotte (202) 224-3324
New Jersey Frank Lautenberg (202) 224-3224
New Jersey Bob Menendez (202) 224-4744
New Mexico Jeff Bingaman (202) 224-5521
New Mexico Tom Udall (202) 224-6621
New York Chuck Schumer (202) 224-6542
New York Kirsten Gillibrand (202) 224-4451
North Carolina Richard Burr (202) 224-3154
North Carolina Kay Hagan (202) 224-6342
North Dakota Kent Conrad (202) 224-2043
North Dakota John Hoeven (202) 224-2551
Ohio Sherrod Brown (202) 224-2315
Ohio Rob Portman (202) 224-3353
Oklahoma Jim Inhofe (202) 224-4721
Oklahoma Tom Coburn (202) 224-5754
Oregon Ron Wyden (202) 224-5244
Oregon Jeff Merkley (202) 224-3753
Pennsylvania Bob Casey, Jr. (202) 224-6324
Pennsylvania Pat Toomey (202) 224-4254
Rhode Island Jack Reed (202) 224-4642
Rhode Island Sheldon Whitehouse (202) 224-2921
South Carolina Lindsey Graham (202) 224-5972
South Carolina Jim DeMint (202) 224-6121
South Dakota Tim Johnson (202) 224-5842
South Dakota John Thune (202) 224-2321
Tennessee Lamar Alexander (202) 224-4944
Tennessee Bob Corker (202) 224-3344
Texas Kay Bailey Hutchison (202) 224-5922
Texas John Cornyn (202) 224-2934
Utah Orrin Hatch (202) 224-5251
Utah Mike Lee (202) 224-5444
Vermont Patrick Leahy (202) 224-4242
Vermont Bernie Sanders (202) 224-5141
Virginia Jim Webb (202) 224-4024
Virginia Mark Warner (202) 224-2023
Washington Patty Murray (202) 224-2621
Washington Maria Cantwell (202) 224-3441
West Virginia Jay Rockefeller (202) 224-6472
West Virginia Joe Manchin (202) 224-3954
Wisconsin Herb Kohl (202) 224-5653
Wisconsin Ron Johnson (202) 224-5323
Wyoming Mike Enzi (202) 224-3424
Wyoming John Barrasso (202) 224-6441