Nominations are now open for the 2022 EFF Awards! The nomination window will be open until August 2nd at 2:00 PM Pacific time. You could nominate the next winner today!

For thirty years, the Electronic Frontier Foundation presented awards to key leaders in the fight for freedom and innovation online. EFF’s annual Pioneer Award Ceremony celebrated the longtime stalwarts working on behalf of technology users, both in the public eye and behind the scenes. Honorees included visionary activist Aaron Swartz, human rights and security researchers The Citizen Lab, media activist Malkia Devich-Cyril, cyberpunk author William Gibson, and whistle-blower Chelsea Manning. We are forever grateful to all of our past Pioneers!

This year, we’re taking a new step to recognize the ways in which the digital world has fused with modern life. We invite you to celebrate the first annual EFF Awards.

The internet is not simply a frontier to conquer. It’s a necessity in modern life and a continually evolving tool for communication, creativity, and human potential. Together we carry—and must always steward—the movement to protect civil liberties and human rights online. Will you help us spotlight some of the latest and most impactful work towards a better digital future?

Remember, nominations close on August 2nd at 2:00 PM Pacific time!


Nominate your favorite digital rights hero now!

After you nominate your favorite contenders, we hope you will consider joining us this fall to celebrate the work of the 2022 winners. If you have any questions or if you'd like to receive updates about the event, please email

The EFF Awards depend on the generous support of individuals and companies with passion for digital civil liberties. To learn about how you can sponsor the EFF Awards, please email