Princeton Professor Behind Important E-voting Vulnerability Research

San Francisco - The Electronic Frontier Foundation (EFF) welcomes the newest member of its Board of Directors, computer security expert Edward W. Felten. A professor of Computer Science and Public Affairs at Princeton University, Felten recently demonstrated the ability to manipulate results on a Diebold electronic voting machine -- showing that the equipment was extremely vulnerable to "vote-stealing" attacks that would undermine the accuracy of vote counts.

Felten's research interests include computer security and privacy -- especially relating to media and consumer products -- and technology law and policy. He has published about 80 papers in the research literature and two books. Felten was the lead computer science expert witness for the Department of Justice in the Microsoft antitrust case. He has also testified before the Senate Commerce Committee on digital television technology and regulation and before the House Administration Committee on electronic voting.

Felten is the founding Director of Princeton's Center for Information Technology Policy, and his weblog, at, is widely regarded for its commentary on technology, law, and policy. In 2004, Scientific American magazine named Felten to its list of 50 worldwide science and technology leaders.

"EFF confronts critically important issues on the cutting edge of technology and freedom," said Felten. "My research and EFF's work have often intersected over the years, and I'm very pleased to take the next step and join the board as we strive to keep the digital world innovative, free, and secure."

In 2001, Felten and EFF sued the Recording Industry Association of America and the Secure Digital Music Initiative in a case challenging the constitutionality of the Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DMCA). EFF honored Felten with a Pioneer Award in 2005, which recognizes those who have made outstanding contributions to the development of computer-mediated communications and empower individuals in using computers and the Internet. He had previously served on EFF's advisory board.

"I have always been a huge fan of Ed's work, using his technical expertise to expose weak and vulnerable technologies to those of us more technically challenged," said EFF Executive Director Shari Steele. "I'm delighted to have him join EFF's Board of Directors."

Other members of EFF's executive board include Brad Templeton, John Perry Barlow, David Farber, John Gilmore, Brewster Kahle, Joe Kraus, Lawrence Lessig, and Pamela Samuelson.


Shari Steele
Executive Director
Electronic Frontier Foundation