Subpoena Defense Resources

Were you recently notified by your ISP or blogging platform that you have been sued for copyright infringement for your online activity? Were you informed that your ISP would be providing your identity to the lawyers for the person or entity that has sued you shortly (usually within 30 days) unless you took action to stop this from happening by filing a motion to quash or to dismiss the case? If so, this page is to help you find counsel to assist you in sorting out your options.

Attorneys who are interested in joining this list should contact info@eff.org with the subject line "Subpoena Defense Attorney Addition."

Please note that we do not screen or evaluate the attorneys on the Subpoena Defense Resources list. Each person contacting a lawyer from the list should make their own independent evaluation of whether the referred attorney is the right one for the particular case. In most states you can check with the State Bar website for the current status and record of lawyers in that state, but you should make your own judgment about which attorney is right for you. 

What’s going on?

A series of lawsuits have been filed across the U.S. against thousands of individuals accused of having illegally uploaded and downloaded movies in violation of copyright law. Some of these are independent films such as “The Dallas Buyers Club” and some are for pornographic films.

The plaintiffs in the lawsuits have obtained IP addresses they allege are associated with infringement, and have received permission from the court to issue subpoenas to Internet Service Providers ("ISPs") to obtain the name and address of subscribers associated with those IP addresses.

What Should I Do?

If you are a target, you probably have questions about how to proceed and may wish to seek legal counsel. Because individual cases are unique, EFF recommends that defendants contact an attorney in either the state where the lawsuit was filed or their home state for a consultation. Because so many people need legal help, and usually on a very short time frame, the following attorneys have offered to assist those targeted to understand their options. Fees are negotiable on a case by case basis. These attorneys may, if necessary, file a motion to quash or otherwise intervene on behalf of subpoena targets who retain them as counsel. The attorneys on this list are not affiliated with the Electronic Frontier Foundation in any way and by offering their names EFF does not intend to give any individual endorsement of them.

If you wish to move to quash or dismiss, you (or your attorney) must file a motion with the court. Also be aware that contacting the court or the plaintiff's counsel yourself risks publicly exposing your identity, which would make the subpoena moot. Last, your ISP will not file for you, and simply sending a copy to your ISP is not enough to protect your identity. If possible, it is usually best to retain counsel to assist.

General Resources

Attorneys offering assistance

Alaska

  • Ben Justus brj@lybeckmurphy.com
  • Lory Lybeck lrl@lybeckmurphy.com

Arizona

  • Aaron Kelly aaron@aaronkellylaw.com
  • White Berberian PLC sberberian@wbazlaw.com

California

  • Brian Corber corberlaw@aol.com
  • Curt Edmondson jcedmondson@edmolaw.com
  • Andrew K. Jacobson andrew@bayoaklaw.com
  • Stewart Kellar stewart@etrny.com
  • David H. Madden dhm@mersenne.com
  • Art Neill support@newmediarights.org
  • Thomas A. Pedreira tap@lybelderckmurphy.com
  • Morgan E. Pietz mpietz@pietzlawfirm.com
  • Danny J. Simon danny@lslawpl.com
  • Will Skinner will@skinneresq.com
  • Steven Yuen syuen@krolaw.com
  • Brandon Wiebe wiebe@gamallp.com
  • Andrew Winghart drew@WinghartLaw.com

Colorado

  • Matthew B. Aguero maguero@aguerolawpc.com
  • Jeffrey Antonelli jeffrey@antonelli-Law.com
  • John A. Arsenault john.arsenault@frontrangelegalservices.com
  • Lara L. Griffith lara@nouveaulaw.com
  • David Kerr dkerr@idea-asset.com
  • Charles Mudd cmudd@muddlawoffices.com
  • Christina Saunders christina@nouveaulaw.com

Connecticut

  • Christopher M. Hennessey chennessey@cohenkinne.com
  • Charles Mudd cmudd@muddlawoffices.com

Delaware

  • John P. Deckers john@johndeckerslaw.com
  • Aman K. Sharma k.aman.sharma@gmail.com

Florida

  • Jeffrey Antonelli jeffrey@antonelli-Law.com
  • Cynthia Conlin cynthiaconlin@cynthiaconlin.com
  • Kubs Lalchandani kubs@lslawpl.com
  • David Magana dmagana@addmg.com
  • Jeffrey P. Manners lawmanners@aol.com
  • Bradford Patrick bap@baplegal.com
  • Danny J. Simon danny@lslawpl.com
  • Graham Syfert graham@syfert.com
  • Richard M. Viscasillas rmvpa007@gmail.com
  • William R. Wohlsifer william@wohlsifer.com

Georgia

  • Blair Chintella bchintel1@gmail.com
  • Jay Fisher jumpfish@yahoo.com
  • Yasha Heidari yasha@heidariplank.com
  • Graham Syfert graham@syfert.com

Idaho

  • John Chandler Meline john@melinelegal.com

Illinois

  • Jeffrey Antonelli jeffrey@antonelli-Law.com
  • Edward Bi ebi@sherinianlaw.net
  • Ross M. Drath rdrath@davismcgrath.com
  • Adam J. Gratch gratchlaw@gmail.com
  • David Gulbransen david@gulbransenlaw.com
  • William J. Mills billy@firmequity.com
  • Charles Mudd cmudd@muddlawoffices.com
  • Jonathan LA Phillips jphillips@skplawyers.com
  • Michelle Rozovics mrozovics@rozovicslaw.com
  • Erin Russell erin@russellfirmchicago.com
  • Daliah Saper ds@saperlaw.com
  • David Valentine-Elam david@artandtechlaw.com
  • Raymond G. Wigell, ndietsch@waaltd.com
  • Scott Zambo ScottZambo@kelleykelleykelley.com

Indiana

  • Jeffrey Antonelli jeffrey@antonelli-Law.com
  • Kenan Farrell kfarrell@klflegal.com
  • Brian Kelly bkelly@jonesobenchain.com
  • David Lynch dplynch@gmail.com
  • Charles Mudd cmudd@muddlawoffices.com
  • Paul Overhauser poverhauser@overhauser.com
  • William Wilson wilson@aaklaw.com

Louisiana

  • Ryan Goudelocke ryan@dmsfirm.com
  • Mark N. Melasky mmelasky@koeppeltraylor.com

Maryland

  • Jeffrey Antonelli jeffrey@antonelli-Law.com
  • Christina N. Boffen cboffen@gmail.com
  • David A. Burkhouse dburkhouse@pklaw.com
  • Denese Dominguez denesedominguez@gmail.com
  • David S. Harvis dharvis@hpklegal.com
  • Michael Kushnir mkatlaw@gmail.com
  • Kimberly McLean kmayolawub@aol.com
  • Tuna Mecit tmecit@gmail.com
  • Eric Menhart eric.menhart@cyberlaw.pro
  • Shane Nikalao shane@alanlegum.com

Massachusetts

  • Christopher M. Hennessey chennessey@cohenkinne.com
  • Eric Menhart eric.menhart@cyberlaw.pro
  • Edward Molari edward@molarilaw.com
  • Kevin O'Leary koleary@coughlinbetke.com
  • Mark Pogue mpogue@eapdlaw.com
  • Jason Sweet jsweet@boothsweet.com
  • Evan Fray-Witzer evan@cfwlegal.com

Michigan

  • Jeffrey Antonelli jeffrey@antonelli-Law.com
  • Samir Dahman sdahman@dahmanlaw.com
  • Steve Glista steve@rationallaw.com
  • Eric Grimm ecgrimm@williamshugheslaw.com
  • John T. Hermann hermannlawoffices@comcast.net
  • Elizabeth V. Janovic evjanovic@gmail.com

Minnesota

  • Paul Godfread paul@godfreadlaw.com
  • Aaron Hall ahall@TwinCitiesFirm.com
  • Chris K. Sandberg cksandberg@locklaw.com
  • Mark Santi ms@TwinCitiesFirm.com

Mississippi

  • Stephen P. Ryan subpoenadefense@koeppeltraylor.com

Missouri

  • Eric F. Kayira eric.kayira@kayiralaw.com
  • Richard Stevens rstevensatty@sbcglobal.net

Nevada

  • Christina DiEdoardo christina@diedoardolaw.com

New Hampshire

  • Christopher M. Hennessey chennessey@cohenkinne.com
  • Jeffrey Techentin jtechentin@apslaw.com
  • Evan Fray-Witzer Evan@cfwlegal.com

New Jersey

  • Jonathan Cohen jzcohen@gmail.com
  • Leslie A. Farber lfarber@lfarberlaw.com
  • Jeffrey C. Neu info@jeffreyneu.com
  • Maurice N. Ross mross@bartonesq.com
  • Aman K. Sharma k.aman.sharma@gmail.com
  • David Wisniewski dwisniewski@me.com

New York

  • Jonathan Askin jonathan.askin@brooklaw.edu
  • Ray Beckerman ray@beckermanlegal.com
  • Matthew John Burnham attorney@matthewburnham.com
  • Robert Cashman rzcashman@gmail.com
  • Tudor F. Capusan info@tudorlawfirm.com
  • Brian Corber corberlaw@aol.com
  • Leslie A. Farber lfarber@lfarberlaw.com
  • James Gross jgross11@aol.com
  • Christopher M. Hennessey chennessey@cohenkinne.com
  • Kubs Lalchandani kubs@lslawpl.com
  • David D. Lin david@iLawco.com
  • Dani Manor danimanor@gmail.com
  • Jeffrey C. Neu info@jeffreyneu.com
  • Maurice N. Ross mross@bartonesq.com
  • Paul Siepmann pksesq@yahoo.com
  • Kelly Talcott kdtlaw@gmail.com

North Carolina

  • Stephen Robertson srobertson@robertsonmedlin.com

North Dakota

  • Joel Fremstad joel@fremstadlaw.com

Ohio

  • David Valentine-Elam david@artandtechlaw.com
  • Kubs Lalchandani kubs@lslawpl.com
  • Melissa Brabender mbrabender@antonelli-law.com
  • Samir Dahman sdahman@dahmanlaw.com

Oregon

  • Alex Golubitsky alex@marjorierobertspc.com
  • Scott Jerger scott@fieldjerger.com
  • Ben Justus brj@lybeckmurphy.com
  • Lory Lybeck lrl@lybeckmurphy.com
  • David H. Madden dhm@mersenne.com
  • Rick McLeod richard.mcleod@klarquist.com
  • Eric Norman ean@lybeckmurphy.com
  • Lake Perriguey lake@law-works.com

Pennsylvania

  • Brian Auerbach bauerbach@patentstrademarks.com
  • Johnathan Cohan jzcohen@gmail.com
  • Leslie A. Farber lfarber@lfarberlaw.com
  • Leonard J. French ljfrench@leonardjfrench.com
  • Jeffrey C. Neu info@jeffreyneu.com
  • Steven O'Donnell sodonnell@3cpatents.com
  • Charles Thomas ct@thomastrials.com
  • Aman Sharma asharma@mwm-law.com
  • David Wisniewski dwisniewski@me.com

Rhode Island

  • Neville Bedford nevillebedford@gmail.com
  • Mark Pogue mpogue@eapdlaw.com

Tennessee

  • Wilson C. von Kessler, II wvonkessler@markelmajor.com
  • Stephen J. Zralek szralek@bonelaw.com

Texas

  • Robert Cashman rzcashman@gmail.com
  • W. Scarth Clark subpoenadefense@koeppeltraylor.com
  • Eric Grimm ecgrimm@williamshugheslaw.com
  • Max Harger max@hargerlawoffice.com
  • William Lovin wlovin@williamlovin.com
  • John Chandler Meline john@melinelegal.com
  • Charles Mudd cmudd@muddlawoffices.com
  • Warren V. Norred wnorred@norredlaw.com

Utah

  • Seth W. Black sblack@wnlaw.com
  • Charles Mudd cmudd@muddlawoffices.com
  • Christina Saunders christina@nouveaulaw.com

Virginia

  • Dirk McClanahan dmcclanahan@mcplegal.com
  • Robert Powers rpowers@mcplegal.com
  • Jeffrey Antonelli jeffrey@antonelli-Law.com

Washington

  • Ben Justus brj@lybeckmurphy.com
  • Lory Lybeck lrl@lybeckmurphy.com
  • Gary K. Marshall gary@marshallcomputer.com
  • Mike Matesky mike@mateskylaw.com
  • Rick McLeod richard.mcleod@klarquist.com
  • John Chandler Meline john@melinelegal.com
  • Eric Norman ean@lybeckmurphy.com
  • Bradford Patrick bap@baplegal.com

Washington D.C.

  • Elliott Alderman thecontentlawyer@verizon.net
  • Jeffrey Antonelli jeffrey@antonelli-Law.com
  • Lisa Dunner ldunner@dunnerlaw.com
  • Eric Grimm ecgrimm@williamshugheslaw.com
  • David Kerr dkerr@idea-asset.com
  • Lory Lybeck lrl@lybeckmurphy.com
  • Kimberly McLean kmayolawub@aol.com
  • Eric Menhart eric.menhart@cyberlaw.pro
  • Tuna Mecit tmecit@gmail.com
  • Robert Powers rpowers@mcplegal.com
  • William R. Wohlsifer william@wohlsifer.com

West Virginia

  • Richard Smith rich@richsmithlaw.com

Wisconsin

  • Jeffrey Antonelli jeffrey@antonelli-Law.com
  • Michelle Rozovics mrozovics@rozovicslaw.com
  • Erin Russell erin@russellfirmchicago.com

US Virgin Islands

  • Alex Golubitsky alex@marjorierobertspc.com

Stay in Touch

NSA Spying

EFF is leading the fight against the NSA's illegal mass surveillance program. Learn more about what the program is, how it works, and what you can do.

Follow EFF

Tomorrow at @sfiaf in San Francisco, join EFF for "Edward Snowden Revelations and the Public Right to Know." https://eff.org/r.v9n2

May 29 @ 4:33pm

EFF supporters get 20% off registration for @ISSALA's Information Security #Summit7 next week: https://eff.org/r.s2qt

May 29 @ 1:36pm

Higher max sentences for "material support" won't prevent terrorism—but will chill First Amendment rights. https://eff.org/r.x49r

May 29 @ 1:19pm
JavaScript license information