August 1, 2012 | By rainey Reitman

Use Facebook to Speak Out for Privacy Before the Vote on Cybersecurity

The Senate is about to vote on the Cybersecurity Act of 2012 – perhaps even as early as tomorrow. So we’re in a last push to get concerned Internet users to speak out for privacy before the big vote. If you want to ensure that we don’t compromise our rights to speak and communicate online privately, then please tweet and call your Senators. And now you can do one more thing: post a note on your Senators’ Facebook profiles. Leave comments asking them to stand up for your privacy in the cybersecurity debates. Comments might read something like:

I’m a constituent and I want you to defend privacy when you vote on the Cybersecurity Act of 2012 (S 3414). Please support the Franken-Paul Amendment and other pro-privacy amendments, reject any attempts to water down privacy protections, and oppose the bill as a whole.

We’ve heard from our contacts in DC that the tweets are making a big impact – let’s add to the impact with Facebook messages.  Scroll down to find your Senator's Facebook information. Note that you must have a Facebook account to comment on a Senator's profile, and you will probably need to "like" the Senator's page in order to post your comment. However, you can stop "liking" the page as soon you've posted.

The vote is mere hours away so please act now.

AK Sen Lisa Murkowski https://www.facebook.com/SenLisaMurkowski

AK Sen Mark Begich https://www.facebook.com/Begich

AL Sen Jefferson Sessions https://www.facebook.com/jeffsessions

AL Sen Richard Shelby https://www.facebook.com/RichardShelby

AR Sen John Boozman https://www.facebook.com/JohnBoozman

AR Sen Mark Pryor https://www.facebook.com/MarkPryor

AZ Sen John McCain https://www.facebook.com/johnmccain

AZ Sen Jon Kyl https://www.facebook.com/jonkyl

CA Sen Barbara Boxer https://www.facebook.com/barbaraboxer

CA Sen Dianne Feinstein https://www.facebook.com/DianneFeinstein

CO Sen Mark Udall https://www.facebook.com/markudall

CO Sen Michael Bennet https://www.facebook.com/senatorbennet

CT Sen Joseph Lieberman https://www.facebook.com/joelieberman

CT Sen Richard Blumenthal https://www.facebook.com/dickblumenthal

DE Sen Chris Coons https://www.facebook.com/7209432197

DE Sen Thomas Carper No known Facebook profile

FL Sen Bill Nelson https://www.facebook.com/billnelson

FL Sen Marco Rubio https://www.facebook.com/MarcoRubio

GA Sen C. Saxby Chambliss No known Facebook profile

GA Sen John Isakson No known Facebook profile

HI Sen Daniel Akaka https://www.facebook.com/danielakaka

HI Sen Daniel Inouye No known Facebook profile

IA Sen Charles Grassley https://www.facebook.com/grassley

IA Sen Thomas Harkin https://www.facebook.com/tomharkin

ID Sen James Risch No known Facebook profile

ID Sen Michael Crapo https://www.facebook.com/mikecrapo

IL Sen Mark Kirk https://www.facebook.com/SenatorKirk

IL Sen Richard Durbin https://www.facebook.com/dickdurbin

IN Sen Daniel Coats No known Facebook profile

IN Sen Richard Lugar https://www.facebook.com/senatorlugar

KS Sen Jerry Moran https://www.facebook.com/jerrymoran

KS Sen Pat Roberts https://www.facebook.com/SenPatRoberts

KY Sen Mitch McConnell https://www.facebook.com/mitchmcconnell

KY Sen Rand Paul No known Facebook profile

LA Sen David Vitter https://www.facebook.com/DavidVitter

LA Sen Mary Landrieu https://www.facebook.com/senatormarylandrieu

MA Sen John Kerry https://www.facebook.com/johnkerry

MA Sen Scott Brown https://www.facebook.com/senatorscottbrown

MD Sen Barbara Mikulski https://www.facebook.com/senatorbarb

MD Sen Benjamin Cardin https://www.facebook.com/senatorbencardin

ME Sen Olympia Snowe No known Facebook profile

ME Sen Susan Collins https://www.facebook.com/susancollins

MI Sen Carl Levin https://www.facebook.com/carllevin

MI Sen Debbie Stabenow https://www.facebook.com/stabenow

MN Sen Al Franken https://www.facebook.com/Sen.Franken

MN Sen Amy Klobuchar https://www.facebook.com/7606381190

MO Sen Claire McCaskill https://www.facebook.com/senatormccaskill

MO Sen Roy Blunt https://www.facebook.com/SenatorBlunt

MS Sen Roger Wicker https://www.facebook.com/wicker

MS Sen Thad Cochran No known Facebook profile

MT Sen Jon Tester https://www.facebook.com/senatortester

MT Sen Max Baucus No known Facebook profile

NC Sen Kay Hagan https://www.facebook.com/SenatorHagan

NC Sen Richard Burr https://www.facebook.com/senatorburr

ND Sen John Hoeven No known Facebook profile

ND Sen Kent Conrad https://www.facebook.com/kentconrad

NE Sen E. Benjamin Nelson https://www.facebook.com/senatorbennelson

NE Sen Mike Johanns https://www.facebook.com/MikeJohanns

NH Sen Jeanne Shaheen https://www.facebook.com/SenatorShaheen

NH Sen Kelly Ayotte No known Facebook profile

NJ Sen Frank Lautenberg https://www.facebook.com/franklautenberg

NJ Sen Robert Menendez https://www.facebook.com/senatormenendez

NM Sen Jeff Bingaman https://www.facebook.com/jeffbingaman

NM Sen Tom Udall https://www.facebook.com/senatortomudall

NV Sen Dean Heller https://www.facebook.com/325751330177

NV Sen Harry Reid https://www.facebook.com/HarryReid

NY Sen Charles Schumer https://www.facebook.com/chuckschumer

NY Sen Kirsten Gillibrand https://www.facebook.com/KirstenGillibrand

OH Sen Rob Portman https://www.facebook.com/robportman

OH Sen Sherrod Brown https://www.facebook.com/109453899081640

OK Sen James Inhofe https://www.facebook.com/jiminhofe

OK Sen Thomas Coburn https://www.facebook.com/teamcoburn

OR Sen Jeffery Merkley https://www.facebook.com/jeffmerkley

OR Sen Ron Wyden https://www.facebook.com/wyden

PA Sen Patrick Toomey https://www.facebook.com/senatortoomey

PA Sen Robert Casey https://www.facebook.com/SenatorBobCasey

RI Sen John Reed No known Facebook profile

RI Sen Sheldon Whitehouse https://www.facebook.com/10519905140

SC Sen Jim DeMint https://www.facebook.com/senatordemint

SC Sen Lindsey Graham https://www.facebook.com/USSenatorLindseyGraham

SD Sen John Thune https://www.facebook.com/63002536261

SD Sen Tim Johnson https://www.facebook.com/10239811690

TN Sen Bob Corker https://www.facebook.com/bobcorker

TN Sen Lamar Alexander https://www.facebook.com/lamaralexander

TX Sen John Cornyn https://www.facebook.com/Sen.JohnCornyn

TX Sen Kay Hutchison https://www.facebook.com/kaybaileyhutchison

UT Sen Mike Lee https://www.facebook.com/178081365556898

UT Sen Orrin Hatch https://www.facebook.com/OrrinHatch

VA Sen James Webb https://www.facebook.com/jimwebb

VA Sen Mark Warner https://www.facebook.com/MarkRWarner

VT Sen Bernard Sanders https://www.facebook.com/senatorsanders

VT Sen Patrick Leahy https://www.facebook.com/patrickleahy

WA Sen Maria Cantwell https://www.facebook.com/senatorcantwell

WA Sen Patty Murray https://www.facebook.com/pattymurray

WI Sen Herbert Kohl https://www.facebook.com/herbkohl

WI Sen Ron Johnson No known Facebook profile

WV Sen Joe Manchin No known Facebook profile

WV Sen John Rockefeller No known Facebook profile

WY Sen John Barrasso https://www.facebook.com/johnbarrasso

WY Sen Michael Enzi https://www.facebook.com/mikeenzi

 

Updates to this list? Email rainey@eff.org


Deeplinks Topics

Stay in Touch

NSA Spying

EFF is leading the fight against the NSA's illegal mass surveillance program. Learn more about what the program is, how it works, and what you can do.

Follow EFF

Celebrate the 4th by giving to EFF! We're fighting to stop mass surveillance in the US and worldwide. https://eff.org/EFF25

Jul 4 @ 5:36pm

A deep dive into XKEYSCORE, one of the NSA's creepiest spying tools: https://eff.org/r.c6hp

Jul 3 @ 3:12pm

Come to EFF HQ on July 8 for a book talk with author of "Geek Heresy: Rescuing Social Change from the Cult of Tech" https://eff.org/r.i3fv

Jul 2 @ 4:57pm
JavaScript license information