June 9, 2011 | By Eva Galperin

How to Disable Facebook's Facial Recognition Feature

Back in December of 2010, Facebook debuted its tag suggestion feature, which works by using facial recognition technology to examine photos in which you’ve already been tagged, and then creating what Facebook calls your “photo summary” or “photo comparison information,” or what we’ll call your “facial fingerprint.” Using this information, FB suggests your name to your friends when they upload a photo of you, and invites them to tag you in that photo. Over the last few months, Facebook has been slowly rolling this feature out to all of its users, which caught the attention of security firm Sophos, The New York Times, and the European Union, which has launched a probe to investigate the new feature.

Like most new Facebook features, this one is turned on by default. If you would prefer not to have Facebook store your facial fingerprint and use it to suggest photos in which your friends can tag you, you will need to opt out manually. The following video will show you three ways to delete your facial fingerprint data from Facebook, and show you a privacy setting that lets you ensure that you are the only person who can see tags identifying you in photographs.

mytubethumbplay
Privacy info. This embed will serve content from youtube.com


Deeplinks Topics

Stay in Touch

NSA Spying

EFF is leading the fight against the NSA's illegal mass surveillance program. Learn more about what the program is, how it works, and what you can do.

Follow EFF

New Dutch surveillance law may allow bulk interception of encrypted communication: https://eff.org/r.27eh

Jul 30 @ 5:31pm

Netzpolitik confirms that German authorities are investigating its journalists for reporting on mass surveillance: https://eff.org/r.o8c5

Jul 30 @ 5:14pm
Jul 30 @ 2:56pm
JavaScript license information