Nominations are now open for EFF's 24th Annual Pioneer Awards, to be presented this fall in San Francisco. EFF established the Pioneer Awards in 1992 to recognize leaders who are extending freedom and innovation in the realm of information technology. Nominations are open until 11:59 pm PDT on Sunday, July 19. Nominate the next Pioneer Award winner today!

What does it take to be a Pioneer? Nominees must have contributed substantially to the health, growth, accessibility, or freedom of computer-based communications. Their contributions may be technical, social, legal, academic, economic or cultural. This year’s Pioneers will join an esteemed group of past award winners that includes the late, visionary activist Aaron Swartz; open-source pioneer Limor "Ladyada" Fried; and the documentarian and journalist Laura Poitras and Glenn Greenwald, among many remarkable activists, entrepreneurs, public interest attorneys, and others.

The Yes Men photo

The Yes Men, 2014 Pioneer Awards Special Guests

The Pioneer Award ceremony depends on the generous support of individuals and companies with passion for digital civil liberties. To learn more about how you can sponsor the Pioneer Awards, or if you'd like to receive updates about the event, including ticket information, please email Nicole at

Remember, nominations are due no later than 11:59 pm PDT on Sunday, July 19! After you nominate your favorites, we hope you will join us this fall in San Francisco to celebrate the work of this year’s winners.