Uber has been on thin ice with privacy-conscious users since late November, when its app update asked iOS users to grant Uber the ability to track their location continuously. Before the update, users had been able to choose between three settings for location tracking: “Never,” “While Using the App,” and “Always.” Uber eliminated the “While Using the App” option, which it said only allowed for data collection while its app was open on someone’s home screen and hindered its ability to glean important details of trips. The company said riders who wished to opt out of constant location tracking could select “Never” and enter their pickups and destinations manually. That explanation didn’t sit well with privacy advocates. The change has “absolutely no respect for user privacy, just none,” Nate Cardozo, senior staff attorney at the Electronic Frontier Foundation, told Quartz.

Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Quartz

Related Issues